• Home
  • Position statements
  • Resources
  • NZ NAC
  • Lab case definitions
  • Choosing Wisely
  • About the NZMN




The New Zealand National Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing Committee (NZ NAC) was formed in late 2017 to provide expert advice to New Zealand diagnostic laboratories and to further the collaboration and sharing of skill development in the area of antimicrobial susceptibility testing within New Zealand.



Membership (as of December 2017)

Josh Freeman

Clinical Microbiologist

NZNAC Chair, Canterbury Health Laboratories

Michael Addidle

Clinical Microbiologist

Pathlab, ESR

Michelle Balm

Clinical Microbiologist, ID Physician

Wellington SCL

Julie Creighton

Senior Scientist

NZNAC Deputy Chair, Canterbury Health   Laboratories

Jan Deroles-Main

Charge Scientist

MedLab Central (Palmerston North)

Juliet Elvy

Clinical Microbiologist

MedLab Nelson-Marlborough, Wellington   SCL

Helen Heffernan

Scientist, AMR Reference Lab


Sean Munroe

Technical specialist – microbiology

Waikato Hospital

Murray Robinson

HD Microbiology and Molecular Biology

Pathlab (Tauranga)

Koen van der Werff

HD Microbiology and Molecular Biology

Wellington SCL

Sarah Underwood

NZMN Administrator





ESR Antimicrobial Reference Laboratory reference and confirmatory testing services: Specialist Testing | ESR (external link)

ESR antimicrobial resistance surveillance reports: Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance Reports (external link)   


Australian National AST Committee (external link)

EUCAST (external link)



Antibiograms from diagnostic laboratories in NZ


Combined CCDHB,HVDHB,WDHB hospitals antibiogram 2016 [PDF, 286 KB]

Nelson Marlborough hospital and community antibiogram 2016 [PDF, 401 KB]

Pathlab (BOP all, and Waikato community) antibiogram 2016 (external link)



Contact Us

All communications and enquiries to the NZNAC should be through the NZNAC administrator, Sarah Underwood